Could This Be My Home?

I was getting ready to put up the Christmas tree, and as I was looking out the window, I saw a bird acting very curious around one of the old robin nests; this one is in a tree over our deck. The bird sat there for a few minutes, and actually checked it out, and removed a piece or two from the nest (I saw something flutter down, who knows what).

It turns out that this bird is a male house finch. I don't know a lot about them but the sort of pink raspberry color it wore was very pretty. I don't think it is nesting season, but it charmed me to think that the little bird might be thinking about moving in. :-)

Then I cleaned a bunch of stuff, and finally put up the (artificial) tree, and T. Tiger watched and helped and supervised and even POLE DANCED for a little while. Yeah, a Tiger, pole dancing with a Christmas tree! Dig it!

And in the evening, while my husband watched football, I got out Moulin Rouge, a favorite film (and one I watched every week, at a certain point in my life), and was reminded, again, of the Bohemian ideals of freedom, beauty, truth, and love! Of course, by the end, I was sitting there bawling my eyes out again, but you know, come what may, and all of that.  ;-)

So it is that my bird photo ends up with a soundtrack song from Moulin Rouge. It's not an emergency rehearsal on top of an elephant in the middle of the night, but it's something. My gift is my song, and this one's for you. Here's Your Song, from Moulin Rouge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.