Streetreads Library

I went thru town by bus today as Streetreads Library was having an open day. I wanted to see how the project has developed as it's been a while since I last had contact with them apart from seeing on social media.

This corner of the Library is named after Rachel Cowan (also known locally as Book Wumman) who started Streetreads as an outreach for homeless at The Leith Police Box then Ocean Terminal, basement of Lighthouse Books, the Hub then to their own now fab Streetreads Library on Nicolson Square.

Apart from wee nooks to sit & read, a few board games, kettle for tea there is support & advice available & referral on where required. There still is outreach which also use Streetcycles to help connect to homeless & other outreach venues.

When I was still volunteering at the Foodbank I had linked in folk that read to pass on books but also to get books out to local Foodbanks (especially kids books). Sadly my connections now lost.

Also got some books into the wards in hospital that didn't have access to the book trolley, especially good for longer staying folk like my Mum at that time. Sadly think the Hospital Book Trolley probably stoped during covid.

As increase in folk struggling, Edinburgh libraries have become 'warmth banks' & a lot more activities taking part for adults using the facilities.

Streetreads Library for homeless, those in temp accommodation & those recently got accommodation but still need further support.

There is now an health & wellbeing activity time in Wednesdays.

All sorts of books are welcome including different languages.

Link: https://www.simonscotland.org/about/programmes/streetreads/

Photo of myself taken using my camera by Iona - Volunteer Coordinator. Added Saturday Six pic as extra. Major achievement for me to go into town especially at this time of year.


Edit: RIP Borders Doddie Weir Scottish Rugby Player & brought awareness & funding for MND.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.