Acts of deliberate notice

By Yaviere

Necessary evils

Christmas shopping day with my mother! 

I'll be honest, I'm getting more and more disillusioned with this whole capitalist Christmas thing. I love the idea of Christmas - a midwinter festival to celebrate with my nearest and dearest - but when that has to be accompanied by thoughts of not knowing what to get for someone and worrying that your gift seems too cheap, it sort of spoils the whole thing. 

I am making many more of my presents this year and want to move more in that direction. I know I would always prefer a handmade gift to another shop-bought thing to try to find space for. Not that I'm ungrateful and not that I don't want to shower my loved ones with gifts. It's just the whole "Hey, obligatory debt time!" aesthetic begins to wear.

Anyway, after an unsuccessful start, my mother again proved my good luck charm and inspiration and I came away feeling much better organised and with some things I knew the recipients would love. The sun was setting as we left town and I paused to take this pretty view up the river towards some of the older buildings.

Even necessary evils have their silver linings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.