Enjoying the wind

I went for a walk to the beach first thing this morning where I spotted these two wind surfers making the most of the high tide and the wind.  The estuary is full of water at high tide and the winds are pretty high in this area as well.  I decided to walk up the river estuary as I hadn't done this for sometime and also to see how the Lower Otter Restoration Project was developing.  I was quite surprised to see the large extent of water that was now present in the extensive flood plain although it was high tide.  I continued along the footpath to White Bridge where I was going to walk along the road back home making a circular walk.  As I approached the end of the road I could see flooding and managed to walk along the edges of grassy mounds but unfortunately reached a final bit where I would have had to get my feet wet.  I wasn't prepared to do that so retraced my steps back along the river estuary.  One advantage of this was a sighting of a gang of Longtailed Tits and a few Blue Tits.

I arrived back home just as it started to rain.  It ended up being a pretty grey and very windy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.