Like Father, Like Son

Here are Mr S and his son in the traditional father/son portrait. Some years Mr S is on the left, and sometimes on the right, just to change it up. There is an older series of Mr S and his father, who is sometimes on the left and sometimes on the right. I don't think I have any of all three of them. 

And speaking of fathers, today is my father's birthday. In that odd way we have, I say that he would have been 113 today. When do we stop counting? The first Extra is at Tuckerman's Ravine in New Hampshire, where he's getting ready to hike in and camp in the snow for some spring skiing; I'm guessing 1948 or so--I clearly remember when my mom and I were home alone for a few days because it was so unusual. The second is much earlier, sometime in the 1930s, and I have absolutely no idea why he's wearing his pants like that. The point of these two photos is to remember what an adventurous guy he was, and how good-natured. He always had a smile and a hug and a joke, and he was always ready to try something new. So, 113-year-old man, I salute you. I don't know what you'd make of this place now--but your love for this world was enormous--you'd find something sweet and magical to show a child, and there'd be hugs all around. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.