Honoured

Last night I, stood down from my role in the British Association of International Mountain Leaders (BAIML). For the last three years I've been the honorary President, I was the Chair of the Board of Directors for four years prior to that. I can honestly say that  I'm leaving it a much more professional, respected and, frankly, happier place than I found it nearly a decade ago.

I had an inkling they were up to something - OK, I knew I'd get a gift, tomorrows blip - it's one of the simple nice things I started - saying thanks means a lot.
But.
I was super moved, and felt very honoured, to be made a Life Member of the Association in recognition of my "services to the mountaineering community". I'll join a very elite club, I think I'm only the 5th in our thirty year history. At times it's been difficult, fractious, worse, but I'm taking this honour as a validation that ultimately its been more than worthwhile. At our gala dinner I sat with guests from pretty much all the UK (& a fair few International) mountaineering stakeholders - something unthinkable a decade ago.
We toasted those lost, celebrated those left, laughed, told tales of adventures and made plans for more. 
Twas a very good way to close a chapter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.