Nisabost Beach

We were talking in the bar last night with Margaret Soraya who leads many workshops here. One of her suggestions was to go to a place she called 'Little Beach' on the west coast where the waves would be crashing in at high tide which was 9 am this morning.

We had breakfast and headed off in the pouring rain, more in hope than expectation. We found what we thought was the beach she meant and as we approached the rain stopped and some nice light appeared. We spent some time there then carried on down the road a short way to Nisabost Beach near Seilabost, which looked great as we arrived but the sun disappeared behind a cloud. My main blip was taken there when the sun came out again.

We carried on driving south and along the Golden Road in the opposite direction to the way we went yesterday. On a whim I turned off the main road signed to Quidnish and spotted the derelict buildings you'll see in my extra. The roads were really quiet today, we saw very few cars. I'm aware that the Western Isles have a very traditional approach to observing the Sabbath but I wasn't really prepared for it being quite so quiet.

We drove on with the aim of getting to Luskentyre as the sun went down. When we got there we found that the wind had really blown up again, we put our coats on and walked on to the beach. After hearing so much about this beach I was surprised to find I wasn't as impressed as I'd expected to be. Maybe living near Dawlish Warren which has great sand dunes marram grass has spoilt me for this sort of scene. It was a lovely place, don't get me wrong, but I'd expected more. I did get a few shots I like but then the sky darkened to a dark slate colour and the rain came in lashing my face with the wind behind it. We retreated and headed back to the hotel. It's been a great day though. We expected very little of it and did very well. The wind's due to ease from tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.