lovelife209

By mindful_life

Making New Memories

It was the summer of 2020, I’m between lock downs, that I decided I would run my first ever marathon distance around my home town. I needed a focus to get me through the months we were locked down and running helped me both mentally and physically…

Taking on a marathon was a huge deal and doing it on my own, and not in a race, came with its difficulties. No first aid, support, drink stations and not knowing whether I could actually do the distance.

Vikki, my music partner at the time and wonderful friend, offered to cycle with me to make sure I was okay and to look after water/gels and anything else I might need. So in June 2020, we set out one morning and I did it. I ran 26.2 miles, with Vikki cycling with me, in 4hrs 20 minutes. I have such wonderful memories of that day!

Vikki moved away shortly afterwards and this weekend I went to visit with my son, who is friends with her son, and this morning we relived that day, although only 8 miles and not 26.2!

We did a very random route that took us through a crop field that was pretty boggy, over the river and through parts of Lincoln she hasn’t yet explored and it was lovely!

True friends are rare… people come and go in our lives as we move through jobs, towns and as our children grow. We lose touch and we keep in touch. What is lovely is that there is always a connection.. Vikki and I don’t see each other very often but when we do, it’s so wonderful. I am grateful to her for accommodating us for the weekend and look forward to seeing her again soon…

Xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.