The Way I See Things

By JDO

Confiding

R and I spent an enjoyable morning in Stratford, meeting up with his aunt who was in town to have lunch with a friend. It was a murky morning, but the forecast promised a better afternoon, so even though I was very keen to try out my 100-500 zoom I travelled light and left the camera at home, in the expectation of being able to get some photos later in the day.

Sadly, the promised sunshine didn't materialise, and by the time I set off through the village in search of birds it was even threatening rain. I quickly walked to the nearby Vale Landscape Heritage Trust orchard, confident that there would be plenty of birds there, but discovered to my surprise (and sorrow) that the large feeding station they had there last winter has been dismantled, and (by no coincidence at all, I'm quite sure) the flocks of corn buntings, yellowhammers, stonechats and chaffinches that frequented the site a few months ago were nowhere to be seen. In fact this pied wagtail was one of only a handful of birds I did find around the orchard, so I was grateful to it for being so confident and confiding, and allowing me within reasonable range.

By the time I'd walked all the paths around the orchard the light was fading fast, and I set off for home. The extra was taken in the village, in an old orchard next to the green. I make no claims for it as an image, but I'm posting it to show how effective this new camera gear is. I was a very long way from the tree, and though I could hear several thrushes arguing, I could only really make them out when they moved, and couldn't even tell what kind they were. Nevertheless I pointed the camera and shot a few frames, and when I uploaded them (via the transfer cable, I'm happy to say, the USBA-C adapter having been delivered while I was out and about), all but one were sharp. I'd go so far as to say that if the fieldfare had been in a better position, I'd have been gifted a reasonable photo under seemingly impossible conditions.

Back at home, I was working on today's processing when my phone rang, and happily it turned out to be the Boy Wonder, wanting to chat to Djiwl and Dad. More chatting was done at our end than his, if I'm honest, but it was lovely to see him, and to be sent several smacking air kisses. He really is a very charming child.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.