... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

St. James's Park: Parakeet People

More piercing in large
Extras:
Incoming parakeet
Wigeon rippling along

I met up with a friend to see the 'Japan: Courts & Culture' exhibition at the Queen's Gallery, so swung by St. James's Park beforehand to see whether I could find the Ross'sling (nope). Quite a few of the captive birds were absent, so I suspect that the Royal Parks are trying to protect (i.e. hiding) their birds.
The exhibition was absolutely spectacular; I'm v. keen on Japanese art and design, so am not quite sure why I had such low enthusiasm going in (royal treasures?), but the collection blew me away... I don't think that I've seen such a high concentration of absolutely stunning artworks and crafts in a single place before, and a few of the items (particularly a silk folding screen and several exquisite examples of artisanal metalworking and lacquerware) left me almost paralysed with wonder.
I was directed to the cloakroom with my camera bag, and thoroughly enjoyed taking no photographs at the exhibition.

Others here (or right from Backlit pelican)
p.s. ISO3600 wasn't exactly intentional (using highlight-weighted metering and auto ISO), but I'm pleased with the result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.