Monday walk

Took the camera - without any plan in mind, or any hope for an interesting shot - on our misty walk this morning. It's a short route we often use from home & I thought I'd explored all photographic  possibilities in the flat, open landscape. Surprisingly enough, I ended up with two images which weren't immediately deleted. The main Blip is part of a bracket fungus which has suddenly sprung from an old tree trunk which has been used to block a field entrance. I liked the textures & the colours contrasting against the much deeper tones of the very wet, rotting, wood, & this crop possibly turns it into more than the original record shot.

The extra shows our local group of roe deer across the still-misty fields - the lens was at maximum extension & it's not an image for pixel-peepers, but I quite like it.

The trunk hosting the bracket fungus is possibly oak & is rather more natural-looking than some of the other heavy objects, e.g. old tractor tyres, used to block other entrances across the ditches around here. With no livestock out in the open, fields don't have gates & often don't have hedges. I assume the obstructions are meant to discourage fly tipping (which some of the blockages resemble) though I did read an article recently which talked of preventing vehicles accessing the fields for hare coursing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.