Sebulon

By sebrose

Home again

A knock on the door - and there’s coffee and orange juice. The sleeper arrives on time at Waverley. We emerge to a chill, dry, Edinburgh morning.

Kerry takes the 26 to Porty. I head up the bridges and get a bus towards Cameron Toll and my car. Then to Ailsa‘a to catch up on with, before a dentist appointment at midday.

The staff at the dentists is completely changed since before lockdown. The receptionists that I’ve been dealing with for thirty years have been replaced by much younger women. The software appears to have been upgraded as well - and not for the better.

It starts with then telling me that I’d cancelled my appointment. Not true - and after ten minutes of head scratching and keyboard thumping, they agree. Next, the system has “lost” my x-rays from two weeks ago, necessitating a further dose of radiation. The pictures show minor decay on one tooth. Finally, despite making clear multiple times that I want standard NHS-issue scrape-and-polish, they try to bill me £68.50 for “private hygiene”. I stand my ground and leave only £15 poorer.

Back at the ranch, I complete my long delayed blog post draft. Robbie fills me in on his 28-day fast (target now 40 days). Nick and I have an after work chat.

Then back to the Cowshed and an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.