Aye aye

My blip is of the Princess Alexandra Eye Pavilion in Edinburgh, where I was today dropping off my brother for his long awaited first cataract procedure. Fingers crossed that this improves his vision, as I would describe him currently, as partially blind. 

On seeing the name, I assumed that the pavilion was named after Princess Alexandra (Princess of Wales and later, Queen), the wife of King Edward VII (1901-1910). This is probably because I watched a super documentary about her on Channel 5 the other day. I knew very little about her apart from knowing she was Danish. 

As a side note, a certain Alice Keppel was the last mistress of King Edward VII, and she was also the great grandmother of our current Queen Consort, Camilla. 

Turns out that it was named after the current Princess Alexandra, who opened the building in 1969. Currently, there are many ongoing discussions about a potential updated replacement, as the building is showing it’s age.

Fingers crossed all goes well with my brother, I’ll be picking him up later and he will be staying with us overnight.

I hope you are having a good day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.