Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

New windows

In my kitchen, guestroom and living-room I had little windows in the top frame that could be opened. Ideal on warm summer days. I could safely keep them open day and night for fresh air coming in through the house. Unfortunately I can't open them any more. They have been replaced by little ventilation openings that can be opened and closed, but don't let in as much air as the little windows did. On top of that, I have to climb a chair to open and close these openings. Worst case in the kitchen, where I need to get on a chair, then climb onto kitchen counter and get myself safely down again... That wasn't much fun when I was 30, but is even less fun now... Why didn't they put in some handle that I can use for opening and closing? I'll get used to it, but not very soon. I felt a cold draught yesterday standing at the kitchen counter, so I climbed up to close it and it won't be opened again real soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.