It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

The Mind is a Weird Thing!

Ach, my knee is still a bit sore with only 9 days until my target race in a year. Rest seems to be working but I think I've been too focused over the last month and pushed too hard. Strong mind + less strong body = bad news. I'm soo sleepy too.

It's been a busy day at work. One that started with a long list of 'To Do's' but has fortunately resulted in nearly as many ticks, most with positive outcomes too. The afternoon ended with a meeting with Grant, our BMX coach. I got loads of useful nuggets which hopefully will contribute tiny little bits to our continual leading the world of cycling. I love BMX....far more fun to watch than road cycling and even the top 8 year olds are far more skilled than an typical 1st Cat roadie.

After work I headed into town without my bike. I had planned to go home then head back for swimming. However, the wind was up, the rain was starting and I couldn't face the train journey. Rather, I had several hours to kill and that's far easier without the Brompton. First stop was 8th Day for dinner. I was welcomed by a miserable lass serving in this canteen style cafe. She was equally miserly with portion size. The food was nice, especially the carrot and ginger cake, so despite the service I was happy. In fact, I was full too, so my minute mole hill on a plate was more substantial than it looked. I then went upstairs to their shop and something similar occurred. I put a minute amount in my basket and it cost a lot!

Then I headed to Manchester Art Gallery. They had a few new exhibitions on. I found the Between the Wars one not quite to my taste. I'm not sure if an exhibition of very different styles of painting works. Would you do a music mix with techno and teeny music together? I think not! Notwithstanding, I liked the Frank Dobson crayon on paper figures and Alfred Wallis: trawler and pier. The latter reminded me of The Switha, a fishery protection converted trawler my dad was on when I was wee.

I then started to wander round aimlessly with the aim of taking random pictures. They were even themed: contrast in colour or texture. I was in a world of my own. The back lanes of Chinatown, although just off the main drag, felt like scenes from Starsky and Hutch in New York. The smells were revolting. The stale hanging niff of Chinese food, steam was bellowing from extractor fans and rubbish lying in the street. A few chefs were outside in the filth, smoking. I didn't feel comfortable displaying my camera.

Then, out of nowhere the heavens opened with people running into doorways for shelter. I did the same and was quickly joined by a Rovers Return extra wearing too much lippy and smelling strongly of perfume....He was called Dave. I didn't go to swimming.

Rather, I decided after all that waiting that as I didn't have my bike or trainers, I would only get a 35 min swim and still had a chance to miss the train. I came home instead.

Just for the record, this is a proper pic or a sculpture in the Gallery...just a simple crop and curve changed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.