Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2022 Thursday — Christmas Candy

When I was a kid, my stepdad “Pops” was wonderful or I could write he was a wonder, especially in the kitchen, especially in the garden, especially regarding vacation, especially regarding Christmas.

Every December he made Christmas candy. No one else made anything like it. But I cannot find anyone who can tell me how to make it. So I decided to tackle the unknown, to conjure my own concept of “Pops” recipe. I think it is basically powdered sugar and melted butter with a tad of favoring.

So I melted 1 cube of butter and mixed it with about two-thirds a box of powdered sugar, some vanilla flavoring and a couple drops of red coloring. When it reached the right consistency I shaped/rolled it into a log, wrapped it in wax paper, and put it into the refrigerator to harden.

My problem is that I can’t seem to slice it into little pieces; it tends to crumble. So I decided to let the log warm (soften) slightly so it could be sliced and then dipped in melted unsweetened chocolate and also dipped in peppermint chips or dipped in melted peppermint. Pops used to jab a toothpick into a piece of the sliced candy then dip it in the melted chocolate. I could not get a toothpick to stick in the slices of candy; the slices of candy crumbled and/or they crumbled in the melted chocolate.

So my “slices” of candy look like lumps or clumps; they are a mess. My consolation is they are delicious. But I’d really like to learn what I am doing wrong or what ingredient the recipe is missing. If I could slice the roll into nice little slices and dip each piece, I’d be delighted.

That’s my entrance to December,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.