Anglophilia

The English language is very popular here, T-shirts have slogans in English on them, verbs are regularly adopted and Germanised and most people can and do swear fluently in English (which maybe to the German ear sounds less offensive/more exotic but to the native speaker it can be rather harsh, especially when I have to reprimand my children for using such language at home)

I do love it when English is used seemingly at random. This van for instance, it may be a plumber's van but how does "where is your plumber?" fit in with their advertising? Surely the question should be "who is your plumber?" or "do you need a plumber?" and I'm not too sure that "plumber" would even be in the general vocabulary of Josef Bloggs. It amused me long enough to prevent me beeping at him when he failed to move off on the green light and so when we had to sit through the second red I got my revenge and blipped him!

Today sees the second wave of the rellie invasion, my brother and GF are flying in for a few days, & it would seem bringing the rubbishy English weather with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.