Well, that was easy!

A week ago, in preparation for my run up to Birmingham, I pushed my bike out of the garage to top up the fuel from a petrol can. Slight problem in that I forgot to disconnect the battery charger/conditioner cable so the wires were ripped out of the plug, which connects to the socket on the bike!
I tried to repair it but couldn't so ordered a new charger/conditioner. They are good because you can leave them connected and they switch on and off, check the battery level and condition etc. so they are not charging all of the time.
I took the bike seat off so I could get to the battery terminals, as I thought I would have to connect the new socket directly to the battery. When I opened the side panel, to get to the old socket, I found the new charger used the same type of plug/socket (SAE) as Harley fit as standard. All I had to do was remove the old plug and plug in the new one.
I could do the battery thing, there's a special cable included with the charger to do that, but just using it as it is in the picture I am very unlikely to ever make the same mistake again because the side panel is hanging off. I've also moved the charger to a higher position, than the old one, and the LED indicators are much brighter so I would be alerted to the fact it's still plugged in.
Seat back on and secured, top box back on and job done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.