Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Orange Tip

Flitting up and down the path quite quickly, hardly ever pausing but always coming back this orange tip was so very pretty. It felt like he was circuit training and with me in hot pursuit I didn't feel too guilty about not going to the gym this morning!

A radical change of tactics were called for........

Luckily for me, sitting very still on the egde of a pond it came within shooting distance, heading straight for the cuckoo-flower. He was NOT getting away! I say he because the males have the very distinctive orange patches lacking in the females and hatch first. Got to say I did feel a bit smug with myself for outwitting him! :))

While tentatively leaning into the muddy edge of the pond I caught a glimpse of this damselfly nymph which looked like he was metamorphosing but just could have been an empty case and I'm not sure. Lovely to see this chap, a Large Red Damselfly flitting over the water today and I can't get over the colour of his eyes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.