Pictorial blethers

By blethers

All things to all ...

There were several versions of me on the go today. Readers of this journal probably know the one that keeps interrupting her morning tea to leap from bed and hang out of the window to take photos of the sky - for it was she who saw the first sign of the sun this morning, she who inflicts yet another red sky photo on Blipland. There were actually about six of them today, all the way to the moment the sun rose (and then promptly vanished for the rest of the day.)

Once up, I slipped effortlessly into Domestic Goddess mode, if that celestial state can indeed be achieved by making some rather magnificent botf soup, coloured and flavoured with paprika, as well as washing the bath and washbasin in the middle bathroom. As I was also making bread in the machine, I sealed my status by producing for lunch the soup and the bread (brown and seedy) with yesterday's remaining tapenade. I also made a slight advance on the present-buying front, though not far enough to make me feel complacent. 

A text from Di brought on my more usual self, the one who abandons all and goes for a walk. We met at Benmore Gardens and hiked to the top of the hill, coming down in the gloaming with the brightness of the sky in the east (no longer the sunrise, just the rather brighter weather people Over There tend to get) showing up the tall trees in their darkness. I suddenly realised a robin was hopping along the path beside us, almost as if keeping us company; he appeared again as we were standing in the car park.

Once home, the dutiful (or driven) self appeared, the one that does her Italian without even taking off her jacket and fits in the mandatory physio exercises before cooking a stir-fry. And finally she was replaced by the slob who lights the scented candle, puts her feet up, and dozes over the telly - though the dozing ceased during the news feature from snowy Ukraine, and these amazing women living in the ruins of their devastated homes, one still with her dainty earrings in, and her lipstick, a woman in her 60s. 

On quite another note: I had a text this evening, purporting to be from Apple, saying my Apple Pay facility had been suspended because of suspicious activity, and giving me a number to contact to restore it. This is a fairly recent scam; I'm the first person I know who's had it. So my final persona, the tech-savvy one, deleted it and came up to blip and bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.