Pretty Little Lane with Red Berries and Raindrops

It had showered overnight and everything was covered in raindrops. It was around mid-day. I'd taken a look at the weather map online, and a large line of storms was heading our way. It would arrive in another hour or so, bringing with it a brief shower featuring big winds and heavy rain.

I took my walk before all of that, and admired the red berries I discovered in several locations. There is a bend in the road down where Red Pine turns into Stonerow. A pretty little lane goes down the hill, with a gate at the top.

I stood and photographed the red berries and their crystal droplets for several minutes, noting the spiky briars all around them. (And, in fact, bumping one, and ripping my camera away quickly, as droplets came tumbling down.) So here is a photo of the pretty little lane, as viewed through red berries and raindrops.

For my soundtrack song . . . I heard Alison Krauss singing something wistful for this image, and it turns out she is joined by Robert Plant. Here they are with the tune, Please Read the Letter, from their album Raising Sand (which I recommend). Here's the video. Here's a live version. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.