KareBear

By KareBear

Take that, nasty virus!

This soup is called lablabi, which is Tunisian for soul feeder. (OK. It just means chick peas.) The traditional breakfast of manual laborers, lablabi has become a comfort food for me.

The first time I had it was at a casual after theatre dinner at my friend Dorsaf's house. About eight women gathered around a large round table, most of us sitting on the floor. Dorsaf brought out a tureen full of hot chick peas in broth and a basket of bread cubes, followed by satellite dishes of preserved lemons, capers, canned tuna, whole 2-minute eggs, harissa and ground cumin. People put a handful of bread cubes into their bowls, poured the boiling soup over it, and added whatever else they liked. I tried everything, but have since decided I prefer my lablabi without the broth-cooked egg. Too creamy.

I have been craving lablabi all week while this evil bug had its way with me, but didn't have the energy to make even this simple dish. Tonight I made it. Tomorrow, may I feel better. Inshallah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.