Stromness Rooftops

Kirkwall dancing included ‘We’ve Nae Electric’, ‘Jim’s Haberdashery’, ‘Scotch Mist’.  For some reason the ladies insisted I danced with a band on.  Not the first time I’ve danced with abandon.  Some folk were  agog, as I slipped off my jersey, I’d forgotten I hadn’t removed the tassels from my routine at the weekend.  Went across to Stromness for lunch with Rebecca – the Hoy Kirk Heritage Officer.  She has been the best appointment the HH Centre has ever made, utterly professional and organised and great value for money.  However.  We met her in the café and she appeared a bit ashen / wabbit.  She was just back from (in her words) a bender in Tain.  She and her sister had made the amateur mistake of going out dancing / drinking / playing pool not having previously eaten.  She said the only redeeming thing was that she didn’t wake up totally naked in the Beauly manse. 
 
Carla Bley is 86.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.