Goodwill Evening Procession reaches the churchyard

Every year in December there is a Stroud Goodwill Evening in the town when businesses are encouraged to stay open into the evening so that families can gather and throng the streets. It has commercial aspects of course but it also tries to involve schools and community groups to create costumes and lanterns in particular for the children to carry in the evening big procession.

The procession gathers outside the Subscription Rooms and then the local Red Band leads the way along a circular route around the town. This year it finished its march in the churchyard of St Laurence which is adjacent to The shambles market area. Our stalls were all staying open until 9pm, so when the I heard the church bells pealing and spotted the Red Band marching past one of our doors, I picked up my camera and headed out of the back door which looks straight onto the church.

I only had a very short time as it was so busy at the stall. I spotted this view beside the main doorway into the church but just as I pressed the shutter a man appeared in front of me, which I didn't register in the darkness. Sadly he has blocked what has turned out to be the most interesting part of this view, which is the stained glass window illuminated from within. I'm rather pleased that the exposure is just right for the light. Normally they are seen from within with daylight breaking through into the church.

I didn't get home until about 10pm which was a long day for me, having arrived at the market before 9am. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.