A Walk Around Stokesay

Out exploring my new back garden (!) and plotting new routes for later on. Found a great track out over the fields adjacent to the River Onny, across the busy A49 and into the enclave of Stokesay, where there is the castle (moated manor house)  together with the Church of St John The Baptist, a farmhouse and tea rooms. I have blipped Stokesay before, and will do again. But today I wanted to capture and share the striking and beautiful 17th century gatehouse. It is a wonder in it's own right, and always worth a look. As is the old church with an awesome array of old gravestones, and inside some medieval inscriptions that have only recently been uncovered.

I have had a good day, as has our little spaniel Hollie. She lives for the great outdoors.


Update: On Friday we had a meeting with Gary, our faithful builder who is engaged on a programme of repair and improvements to the bungalow we moved into in September. We had some unwelcome news.

We need a new roof. Just like that. Wow. Not a lot surprises me but this did.  It is true, the existing roof is failing, largely due to cement tiles that have degraded so much that they are not weather proof. As evidenced by the exposed and rotten fascias and roof joists.  I am mortified as a very expensive survey did not pick this up. Or other evident faults that we did not know about.

I am now exploring the viability of a complaint against the surveyor, who I believe has been negligent. Not holding my breath but always worth a shot.

Our daughter and her housemate came to stay over the weekend. Their car broke down. I had to help push it down to the pub carpark.  Put my ICD through it's paces. The car has been fixed so all's well on that point, but I am still breathing heavy!

And to add insult to injury, the lens on my Huawei smart phone has been broken. I have no idea how it happened and I suspect skullduggery.  But nevertheless I now need to buy a new one. Any recommendations for a good quality affordable (ha ha!!) smartphone gratefully received.

Thanks a whole bunch for the continued support, lovely comments, stars and hearts over the last few days. My contibution has been somewhat lacking. Humble apple ogies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.