Harp

I can still hear the first time I really, deep-down, heard the harp. It was in 1974. With violins. Il Trovatore. I wish I'd known then that it wasn't too late. Though the harp is not an easy instrument to cart around.

Our second go at Vaughan Williams's Sea Symphony was better than last night. In the rehearsal beforehand our incredibly tolerant conductor (one of his comments when we were out of tune was, 'just make sure your intonation is in agreement') did lose it with the violas who were finding the frequent changes of speed as perplexing as I was. I felt very sorry for them.

My debrief in the pub afterwards was with a singer from the other choir who joined us for the performance and her partner, a professional composer. Rather surprisingly, they are the first people I've met who get as animated as I do about bricks. We swapped brick pictures. We will be meeting again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.