It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas (3)

My journey from Akbuk to Essex was one of the easiest I've ever had - not least thanks to Graham driving me to Izmir airport before sunrise that set the tone for a smooth, uneventful nicely timed journey that ended when I walked through my English front door at 13.00 (UK time).

Bro arrived at 18.30 and after a cuppa we went to Toby Carvery - what a wonderfully warming welcome to Blighty with the largest plate of various winter veggies, just what the doctor ordered for this tired and hungry traveller. Thus satiated, before going home my bro drove me to the other side of Chelmsford to see the best ever decorated ho-ho-ho house. While taking photos, the house owner came out to say hello and I learned that his name is Paul, and that he has been doing this every Christmas for 16 years, that this year he started decorating the front of his house on 1st November, and that he encourages charity donations from all who admire it - this year he is collecting for the local air ambulance.  Whilst I'm quite glad not to be his neighbour, (although he does turn it all off each evening at 21.30), what a wonderful welcome home to Christmas in Blighty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.