Not what we planned

This is a late posting.

Our day was meant to be:
Tuesday morning walking group
Early lunch
Pilates for me
Plan A Sandi Toksvig - cancelled, as Sandi is in hospital in Australia with bronchial pneumonia
Plan B - Tuesday night walking group

As it turned out, none of the above eventuated. At 8:35am I received a call from my Mum’s retirement village to say Mum had been found on her floor, unresponsive, and they’d called the ambulance. MrMacD and I dropped everything and ran across the road and down to Mum’s room. The paramedics weren’t far behind us. I went with Mum in the ambulance, making calls to daughter, sister and brother to let them know what was happening. We arrived at Auckland City Hospital and were taken straight into the RESUS unit in ED where half a dozen doctors and nurses were waiting. I was despatched to the Family Room while the team attended to Mum. Eventually I was able to move to Mum’s room and my sister arrived. My brother, meanwhile, was booking a flight from the South Island. The doctors decided to do another scan, which showed what the first scan hadn’t- that Mum had had a stroke. She’s been unconscious most of the day, with a handful of conscious moments. She can hear what we say to her but can’t speak, only nod or shake her head. It’s now 3:50am on Wednesday morning and the three of us are still sitting with her, trying to catch some periods of sleep and wondering what the next few days will bring.

I popped upstairs late afternoon to get a coffee and on the way back to ED took a photo of the coloured lines that guide visitors to the various departments within ED. That’s my blip for Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.