Tiny Tuesday: Black-and-White

Many thanks to MaryElizaR who's hosting TT this month and reminds us on the challenges pade that macro photography "is described as photographing something so it appears larger than it is seen". Of course TT blips don't have to match this definition, but I do like that sort of photography. So having found a sleepy ladybird, settled down in a corner between a wall and the ceiling for its winter hibernation, I gently took it down to photograph it using a super-macro setup (see here for details if you're interested.)

Initially it was quite cooperative and kept quite still apart from waving one of its antennae a little, so I managed a 15-layer focus stack which is what you see here. I then tried a 40-layer stack, hoping to get more of the body in focus but at this point it became decidedly less cooperative and started crawling around on the piece of card on which I'd placed it. My Editor forbade me from putting it in the freezer for a while to slow it down a bit more so at that point I gave up and gently replaced it in a corner to go back to sleep.

Today's challenge is for a black-and-white blip so I converted it for the main blip - I don't think it loses too much by that. However I've added a colour version as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.