A dapper crow

I stopped at the local plant nursery after school because they also sell other bits. I was hoping for a packet of Christmas cards which have been hard for me to find for some reason. They had one packet I liked so that was that. I thought it might be a place to find a blip since I hadn't any other thing in mind. They had a whole row of these crow statuettes which I though was kind of cool but then I saw this one decorated with a bow and I chose him.
We had some excitement this morning. I was sitting at my computer eating breakfast. Dan was still sleeping. I started smelling something very hot and then I saw some embers floating down outside the window.... PANIC!!! I yelled for Dan and he said to damp the wood stove all the way down. We could see one bit of the stove pipe glowing red.. Yikes!! We have a very odd pipe. Dan put the stove out so we can walk behind it. And instead of having the stove pipe go straight up through our metal roof he made a 90 degree bend so we have a horizontal bit of pipe that runs about 5 feet and then another 90 degree bend and it goes up and out a dormer roof that is wood.
Anyway, long story short, there was crud in that horizontal bit that had started to burn. But it wasn't so far along that it couldn't be stopped. I left for school and Dan waited until the stove was cool, took the pipes apart and cleaned them.
I'm so thankful it wasn't more serious.. Whew! We're having a fire tonight and all is well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.