La vida de Annie

By Annie

Gaita.

My friend Lisa is a soprano in the EnFusion Choir Menorca. I can't hold a note myself but was happy to go along and watch this morning's rehearsal for Friday and Saturday's Christmas Concerts. Both are sold out so I wouldn't be able to go along even if I wanted to (still nervous of crowds). My job was to mind her dog Bella, who has severe separation anxiety, while the practise went ahead, which has to be said, mostly very well, a few high notes and overloud ooh-ooh-oohs excepted. The stand-out feature for me was Andy playing along to Little Drummer Boy, standing outside so as not to drown out the singing. In the actual concerts he will also play Mull of Kintyre, or as my OH calls it, Mullet of Cuntire. This is the closest I've been to bagpipes before and it bought a tear to my eye, not of pain but pure emotion. Despite not knowing the guy, I uncharacteristically plucked up courage to ask Andy to pose for a photo, which he was happy to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.