Cave Store

Decided to go to Lochbuie and walked in the opposite direction than usual, towards Carsaig.  Didn't get as far as intended as spotted a couple of caves, one of which was being used to store nets.  Quite puzzling as there were mostly old rope and string nets but also some other plastic based items.  The rope nets were carefully hung on tree branches that had been wedged between the rocks.  Find it hard to believe they are still in use.  I then had a look at the other bigger cave, all very fascinating.  As I walked away I didn't look where I was putting my foot and stepped into quite a deep boggy bit, the freezing smelly sludgy liquid filling my welly.  Went a little further on to find a bit of shore that I could access to try and sort it out.  Washed my foot and the worst of it off my trousers, slooshed out the welly and persuaded M to give one of his socks (he was doing double socks).  I added one of my gloves over my toes (they were so cold) and then a dog poo bag to try and stop it all getting soaked again. Had our picnic.  Managed a bit further before we turned back as had lost all feeling in the top bit of my left foot, the poo bag wasn't doing its job.  Once in the car I ditched the wellies and wet sock, scrounged M's other spare sock and wrapped my foot in my scarf.  Had some tea and cake and then headed home via the mussel place to pick up a bag.  Not quite what we planned but still a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.