excerpts from a life

By berfin

home #3

It’s barely afternoon but I think this is the photo of the day.

I know I’ve said it a lot… but I feel safe here.

My morning was very feverish, again. I tried to sleep it away and then finally managed to get up and take medicine. One thing about having a fever is that I don’t want to go back to bed now. I’ve spent two entire nights sweating and shivering and I’m kind of tired of such restless sleep. So I got up and didn’t go back to bed today — which is surprising, because my hypersomnia has been kicking my ass for the last few weeks. Maybe I’m finally snapping out of it.

I got up and took Roka out for a walk, which was impressive because I felt like shit. It’s been three days in a row that I’ve been able to take him out for walks now, and because he didn’t get that chance back in the other house, I’m really proud of myself.

I’ve been reading about seasonal depression and one of the best ways to beat it is exposing yourself to the sun as much as possible (which is also why I’ve been insistent on taking Roka out mid-day rather than in the evening). So I grabbed my pillow and blankets and tucked myself in on the sofa in front of the window, which is seen in this picture. I love living rooms taking a lot of light in, and I just sat there, scrolling on social media and laughing and petting Roka. Then my food was delivered. Of course he got bites from my pizza too. :)

That was when I looked and saw the graceful drape of our curtains, the textures of my blankets vs. the windows. And looking at them made me so happy. I think not a day goes by where I don’t express how grateful I am for moving here, but the gratitude and softness were so much more intense when I smiled and took this photo.

I love sitting on this sofa. I love taking the light in. I love this house. I’m so lucky. So, so lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.