"I'll be home for Christmas...

...if only in my dreams."  A few years ago, I found this photo of the Main Street of Hudson, Massachusetts at Christmastime.  We moved there in 1952 and this photo is from 1953.  It was a dark, grainy black and white photo and I decided to clean it up a bit and colorize it.  I remember Christmas shopping in that Woolworths with my mother.  When I was working on it, it made me think of that scene from "It's a Wonderful Life" when Jimmy Stewart was running down Main Street in Bedford Falls.  I still watch that movie every year.  Yesterday I learned that the bell that rung at the end of the movie was made right here in New England.  They still make bells and you can buy one from them. Wouldn't that make a lovely gift for someone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.