Wildlife wonder

Hat stayed on overnight.
Frost on both sides of the windscreen.
Stunning morning through a little gap in the ice.

I haven't had such a fine wildlife trip for a long time! 

This was one of the first squirrels I saw near the house whose owners have turned their copse of woodland into a nature reserve for red squirrels.  Before I was even close to the viewing area, I looked to one side to see my first hair ice which deserved a closer inspection so I picked up the branch and carefully balanced it on a fence post.  As I took a couple of photos, something caught my eye - a little vole was staring up at me from near my feet!

Once at the viewing area, there was little to see. But then movement.  

No squirrel…  Pheasant.

Movement again and a little red squirrel was haring towards me and it was shortly joined by another which really brought on the zoomies!  I wasn't quite sure how a photograph was going to happen, particularly given it was an hour before the sun was going to get close to this little hollow.  Thankfully, one rested on a fencepost and then they were off again before eventually disappearing into the woods.  

I continued on the stunning frost-filled walk just taking it all in.  Just before the incline to the top track, a whole load (dynasty is better!) of goldcrests we’re flitting about in the trees in front of me.  These kept me entertained for a while as I wanted to head back with a bit more sunshine.  I still had to do two ascents of the track into the sunshine to keep warm before it was time to reverse my steps.

Nothing!

Well, one vague glimpse of a red squirrel in the distance so I counted myself very lucky with the first pass! Buzzard on the way back and then I came across the hair ice stick again.  And a very curious robin - wished I'd brought some mealworms! At one point, it hopped onto the end of the stick and started to descend like a see-saw. Somehow, I managed to counterbalance the other end of the stick, get my little camera out and take a photo!

Finally, back at the house and there were the original two squirrels - this time with a little scampering in the sunlight.

Very lovely indeed.  
Time for hot soup and snacks before meandering home, stopping for a cup of tea after Fleet Moss which was the easiest way home with the road closed.

Can't resist so many extras today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.