Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Full Moon and Mars

I was up in plenty of time to de-ice L's car so she could get to work.  To the West I could see the Moon in the lightening sky, as well as a small red dot in association.   This, it turns out is Mars.  By waiting until the sky had lightened I was able to capture both in the same image.  No other celestial bodies could be picked up in the frame, showing how much brighter the moon and planet were in the sky.

A working day, I stayed home and dialled into the fortnightly team meeting.  Frustratingly the sound was not great and I must have missed a good 30% of the discussions.  

While video conferencing has been an incredible tool for the pandemic, I get the feeling that mixed events do penalise those not in the room.  In the old days we used to have a futuristic looking triangular shaped speaker/microphone placed in the middle of the meeting table to allow for remote participation but with the advent of screens the microphone has moved to one end of the room and it doesn't pick up voices as well.

PS Mars is towards the opposite corner of the frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.