LesTension

By LesTension

THANKSGIVING CACTUS

It's Flower Friday but flowers are scarce in these parts this time of year.  THEN I REMEMBERED!  My Thanksgiving Cactus is in full bloom and has been for the better part of a month. Here's one of its many blossoms.
~
This particular cactus has a lot of sentimental value for me.  It happens to be over 100 years old...or at least the parent plant is.  You see, I started this cactus from a "cutting" my mother gave to me.  She started hers from a "cutting" she took from her mother's (my grandmother's) cactus.
~
It is as reliable as a clock when it's time to flower....never fails.  I thought, at one time, that I had a weird Christmas Cactus as it always bloomed around Thanksgiving and not Christmas.
~
A little research showed clearly that there are two different types....one Thanksgiving and one Christmas, named for their annual blooming time. You can tell them apart most easily if you know what to look for.  Check it out:

https://www.gardengatemagazine.com/articles/flowers-plants/plant-guide/christmas-cactus-vs-thanksgiving-cactus/

~
I suspect some of you Blippers might have a Thanksgiving Cactus believing it to be a Christmas Cactus.  NOW YOU KNOW!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.