life's a beach

I’ll resist the temptation to post many more images like this when so many of my blip friends are freezing.   It’s a special place. Today we discovered the beach.  And by an amazing coincidence, Varnika’s mum and brother.

Dan and Varnika came to our hotel this morning and joined us for breakfast.  It’s the first time we’ve seen them since the summer - apart from FaceTime.

Varnika was not at all impressed with our room;  “It’s not big enough”.  It’s not, if we’re honest.  It’s fine for a few days but we’re here for a while and a big wedding - we (Anniemay) have too much stuff and nowhere to put it.  Most of our clothes are still in our suitcases.  We were just too tired after the journey to give it much thought. “I will get you a bigger one” she says.  And she does.  

Anyone meeting her for the first time might, be fooled by her winning smile and gentle disposition.  Underneath she can be very determined.  “My Mum and Dad are here for three weeks” she tells the manager “I would like a free upgrade to a bigger room” or words to that effect.  And that’s what happens.  

The new room is really nice and while it’s made ready for us, Anniemay and I take a trip down to the beach for a walk and a coffee.

As we sit in a cafe and admire the view, a woman comes over to our table and says “excuse me, are you Igor?”  I nod and she says “I’m Varnika’s mum”.  

I’m surprised and yet not surprised.  We’ve never met, but the smile is the same.   A man joins us; “I’m Varnika’s brother”.  

It’s quite emotional.  Here we are - four people standing in a cafe full of people, hugging and laughing - strangers who are now family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.