The Apothecary

Continuing around to the east from the office, the next building is the Apothecary. This is where my lovely daughter and her business partner, Deb, create Herbal Alchemy a consulting and potions enterprise. Both Deb and the lovely daughter have Masters degrees in Therapeutic Herbalism.  Deb co-owns the farm with her life partner, Heather.

The pool is a living pool fed by a spring, lined with rocks and boulder, and capped with flagstones.

Last night around midnight, a terrible ruckus woke me. I spent the next two hours trying to keep the foxes at bay.  There I was outside in the freezing cold wearing my jammies and a heavy coat, wielding a broom, running after the fox, and yelling from the top of my lungs. 

The guinea fowl usually roost under the barn eaves, and are thus not protected by a coop. They must have been on the ground when the attack started.

In the end the foxes prevailed and took 3 of the 6 guinea hens!  Very sad news :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.