PandaPics

By pandammonium

What time is it?

I did not find my gloves for parkrun: I was already late and I had to find my hat! My fingers – and toes – got so cold they felt like they were burning. I need to remedy this situation asap.

Thanks for all the suggestions, advice, etc. yesterday. Thanks to snap_in_my_day, I dragged Mr Pandammonium out to the shops in Ely – I promised him beer if he didn’t grumble too much and more beer if he was helpful – to look for a pair of fingerless mitten-gloves.

There aren’t that many shops in Ely that sell gloves. I looked in my two favourite shops. They had some, but they were expensive. We looked in an outdoors shop; they had a pair, which I tried on. They had a fleece lining and were really cosy. But the thumb was covered, defeating the point: what’s the point in having your fingers out but not your thumb, when it’s our opposable thumbs that allow us to do the things that we do? I was really sad about them because they were otherwise perfect.

We looked in a Scandi shop I’d never seen before and the independent sports shop I got my high-vis running jacket from. The former had no gloves; the latter had all the wrong kings of gloves.

We went to the pub. The weird pub in Ely has a backwards clock. I find it much easier to tell the time on a backwards clock than a forwards clock. Mr Pandammonium would have the minute hand going backwards and the hour hand going forwards. I’d find that confusing. What do you think?

I reviewed all the fingerless mitten-gloves we’d seen. I concluded that I need a pair with a flap over the fingers and a flap over the thumb. Does such a pair exist? Not at the other outdoors shop in Cambridge. Mr Pandammonium suggested I look on the likes of Etsy, eBay and Amazon.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.