Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Freezing Fog and Marcescent Beech

Another wintry day when the temperature never rose above -1C, with persistent freezing fog.

We met Sarah and Ben at the Green Backyard Christmas fair - an annual fixture in the diary. I felt very sorry for the stallholders though most seemed to be well wrapped up and snuggling hot water bottles. 

We quickly secured our annual supply of mead from a local maker, and bought Pete and amazing hand carved yew box for his birthday and Christmas present - it was a lot more than we would normally spend on such occasions but was very special. 

I purchased a mushroom print from a young artist whose work I'd seen online. She was Artist-in-residence at Deeping Lakes NR, works with Art Pop-up and knows Kathryn Parsons. We immediately hit it off and I've promised to taker her out to one or two of my favourite local sites next year. As we were leaving a drumming group were just getting underway (see extra) - I suspect they were warmer than most of us!

After a hot drink at home I headed out again and had a couple of hours taking foggy and frosty photographs at Helpston Woods and Swaddywell NR. The beech wood looked particularly ethereal - silent and sleeping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.