This Could Be The Last!

Well this could be the last blip,
This could be the last blip,
Maybe the last blip
I don't know. Oh no. Oh no


The words of The Rolling Stones fitted my mood this afternoon!

After some business to sort out in Carlisle, I asked The Man if we could drive home via the Druid stone circle, Long Meg. The Man had brought his camera too. The weather wasn't brilliant but you never know how things will turn out when you get somewhere half an hour later.

When we arrived at Little Salkeld The Man declared that he would stay in the car and read. Even I didn't feel like getting out of the car in the pouring rain, but I'd made a fuss about going there so I thought I should make the best of it and got the camera, tripod and brolly out of the car.

There were cattle in the field so not only was it blowing a gale and raining but also the long grass had many wet, fresh cow pats in it.

It was such a struggle to hold the brolly and the tripod against the wind that I decided on one last shot, this one. As I was reviewing the shot I was annoyed that the brolly had blown in front of the lens.

In the next moment the brolly took off! Now that should have been my blip!

I put my camera into my bag and abandoned the tripod as I followed the brolly, watching as it bounced and rolled in the cow pats before getting trapped against the fence at the far side of the field. I just dreaded a gust lifting over the fence. Not that the old thing was valuable, I just didn't want it to cause problems.

I had a long walk back to the car, I was already soaked and I certainly diddn't want to hold a filthy dripping brolly over my head.

That's the last time I'm doing a blip in the rain, I said to myself as I crossed the field and thought about the Stone's song. By the time I got back to the car I even declared that it would be the last time I ever blipped!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.