Fence Repair

Todays project.
Bramble escaped from our garden yesterday, for the first time ever, through a hole in the back fence which I’d repaired (but clearly not well enough!) when I noticed it a few months ago.
As soon as I realised she was missing I went out on the hunt, unfortunately Nick was away for the day, but one of our neighbours came out to help me, and my sister in law drove over too.
After I’d been out for nearly an hour, whilst searching along the nearby main road, some guys in a white van pulled up and asked me if I was looking for a dog (it must have been obvious!), they told me where they’d just seen her, a couple of roads away. So I hotfooted it over there, and lo and behold there she was emerging from someone’s garden, licking her lips. She seemed quite underwhelmed to see me, but had clearly been eating (!) her way around the neighbourhood, as well as crossing the busy main road unscathed.
Her bowel movements today have confirmed, in both frequency and size, that she’d found plenty to eat (I dread to think what…)
A complete relief to have her back safely, and a temporary but solid repair to the hole, which is located under a hedge, so not the easiest job. So grateful to the great guys in the van who stopped to tell me, without  them she’d probably have been missing a lot longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.