Eyes on a Nisga'a Mask

One year, my students gave me a print by a young Nisga'a artist named Merlin Robinson as a gift at the end of the academic year. He was the partner of one of my students from Nisga'a territory. I love the print and bought a mask that Merlin carved in April 1994. I've added an extra of the mask, not the best photo but the best I could get today. I thought that the eyes would work for the MonoMonday theme of "Eyes". Thanks to Carolina for hosting MM. 
The mask is carved from cedar and the hair is from a horse tail. The mask is called "Nisga'a woman with lab ret". A labret or lip plug, also known as a "...lip disc, or mouth plate is a form of body modification. Increasingly large discs (usually circular, and made from clay or wood) are inserted into a pierced hole in either the upper or lower lip, or both, thereby stretching it." (from Wikipedia)
The students in the program I worked with for over 20 years were  all Indigenous, mostly mature students, and came from many places in BC and across Canada. I'm so grateful for the knowledge and history that they shared with me. Our older granddaughter just sent me a copy of her project on "Indigenizing Place" that she was presenting this morning in her Indigenous education course. She chose to do it on the Indigenous history of Salt Spring and focused on Xwaaqw'um, a place that's very special to our family. She included photos of the Welcome Poles and Gathering Place that I've blipped. I'm so thrilled that she has such an appreciation of Indigenous knowledge and history, not surprising really since she's been immersed in it all her life through our work. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.