The Way I See Things

By JDO

Slippery

R and I went to Broadway again this morning, to try to finish our Christmas shopping - which we almost succeeded in doing, so yay us.

It's hard for Broadway not to look picturesque in any circumstances, but in the snow it's almost magical. The woman who took her small child down the High Street on a sledge had the right idea though - apart from the area outside the museum, almost none of the pavement had been gritted, and it was lethally slippery.

After we'd finished our shopping, and enjoyed what we felt were well-deserved coffee and cheese scones in Leaf & Bean, R and I walked in the road most of the way back up the hill to the car park. This was less  stressful than being on the pavement, but not without its dangers: if I were telling a stranger about this village I'd certainly mention its beautiful setting, lovely golden stone buildings, and nice shops and cafés, but I'd also be sure to tell them that some of its drivers are nigh-on psychopathic, and you take your life in your hands every time you step off a kerb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.