wrbradley

By wrbradley

Sedum flowers in winter glory!

Today has been a pleasant day with winter sun, but very icy and too slippery to go for my usual walk, so I retreated to my back garden instead.  It was just after 9:30am and still quite dull, about -2C, but the quality of the light was superb, nice and soft!  It's the light that is important and there doesn't have to be a lot of it to grab some pleasing shots.  Being inspired by my frosted hedge rows yesterday I decided on a similar theme for today.  I had noticed the frostbitten sedum and thought a closeup with my 50mm lens would do nicely.  I have disposed with all my Nikon gear, including the macro lens, so 50mm it is!  As usual I like to open the lens up for shallow depth of field, I like this approach as it emphases the beauty of the frostbitten sedum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.