Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

VIII

Back Blip - please bear with me while I do a bit of a catch-up!

Following the death of HM the Queen there has been a lot of guff spoken in the media about our banknotes and coins having to be replaced, as well as our postage stamps and even our post boxes. Clearly, the people who have been wittering about such nonsense have not been paying attention to their surroundings. Post boxes bearing the ciphers of several past monarchs are still to be found without too much searching.

Anyway, this got me returning to my '111 Places in Glasgow That You Shouldn't Miss' book that is never far from hand. Apparently there are a few surviving Edward VIII post boxes in Glasgow and very few (if any) others nearby. Only about 170 were ever made during the King's short reign, and many of these were 'rebranded' soon after his abdication.

Armed with information about the location of three of these Edward VIII post-boxes and my bus pass I took myself into Glasgow for a wee bit of exploration. Well, it gets me out of the house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.