Der Tag

Tiny Tuesday theme is Words . I couldn’t think of anything then I remembered my Dad’s  wartime diary with its difficult to read very small writing in green ink. He always said they weren’t supposed to keep a diary in case it got into enemy hands. The actual diary is about 10 x7 centimetres so, pretty small. Here is a random entry from Thursday 9 September 1943


“Der Tag
We invaded south of Salerno at 3 am
Smokey flame explosions bombing, quite hectic. We beached at 8 am approx .
Many trucks bogged on beach .
We got off after 2 hours. Shelled Bde HQ. Established 1/2 mile inland. We were sniped at.
I had trouble with a charging engine. Went to Wilky at Coldstreams to repair his set. Bed at 12 AM

Friday 10 September 
Up at 5 am. Mosey arrived in (?) north.. Our 3 tonner is damaged on beach. We moved forward 2 miles. Usual dis sets etc (?) We were able to get to bed at 10 but were up again at five past. ACV set (?)
The Grens set went off. So Mo and I went out. A bit of machine gun fire about. Things are not too happy. Navy is shelling. Bed at 4 am.”

When I read this out to LooseCanon a few minutes ago he remarked that I was lucky to be here.
It does all sound pretty dangerous. I like the understated description of it being quite hectic.
Dad was in the Royal Corp of Signals attached to the British Eighth army. Keeping radio comms going
Tiny Tuesday hosted by Mary ElizaR.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.