lovelife209

By mindful_life

Cherry Blossom Tattoo

Today I did this… I got a tattoo… I have wanted to do this for quite a while and earlier this year I decided to get it booked in and to go for it. It’s been a long time since I had a tattoo and I really wasn’t sure how much it would hurt or how I would sit for it. I had a strategy… to focus on the breath and/or music to get me through. Meditating my way along…

Jade did a fantastic job, she really did. We played loud cello music in her studio, some pieces I knew so well that I could follow it in my mind which perfectly took my mind away from the discomfort.

Pain is an interesting thing.. it has been shown that meditation reduces the pain receptors in the brain - people report feeling less pain. Nothing in the body changes but our relationship to the pain does. Perceiving the pain as sensations, rather than ‘pain’ changes the way it is perceived.

I really enjoyed having this body art done today… mentally challenging but worth every minute…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.