Combi31

By Combi31

Tap, tap, tap ...

Greater spotted woodpecker.
His beak has motion blur, so much was he going at this branch to dislodge insects.

This afternoon, after having mown the lawn with the tractor, I went to a different forest, surrounded by grape vines, about 3 minutes up the road.

I heard some nestlings in a tree and noticed that the tree was full of holes - woodpecker nests, so I set my hide up and waited - I could hear the chicks cheeping, but didn't see any as I think I was set up on the wrong side of the tree - these things happen.

I also heard a few stags, obviously in rutting mode, quite close by, calling out their challenges - I don't know if they can get aggressive, but their cries were quite chilling.

I also noticed lots of tracks of wild boar ... oh, no, not again ...

I came here to look for badgers initially, as I saw one a few nights ago as I was collecting honourable son N°2 from rugby - I'd even thought of bringing some peanuts in the hope of tempting them, whilst waiting in the hide - alas, I didn't find the sett.

So here is a pic of a greater spotted woodpecker that I saw later.

I also saw what I thought, at first, was a rusty oil drum - it was in fact a beautifully coloured red deer doe, which just got up and walked into the forest - I couldn't get a shot due to all the branches - that's what you get in the middle of nowhere I guess.

I'll have to come back here, maybe with Norman, the Jack Russell on a lead, he should be able to find the sett for me ...

I hope your Saturday has been good thus far :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.